Pet sitting chronicles 

Animal Advocacy

I’ve decided to blog a little about my side hustle as a pet sitter. It’s something I do part time in order to save for my Birthing Business which is my big goal after graduating from UTEP with my health promotion degree. 

I work through a host site called dogvacay. There are other sites you can use like Rover, which is great too but I certainly prefer dogvacay. Dogvacay had a simpler layout and it was easier for me to manage. I enjoy dog sitting and it allows me to generally stay pretty close to home with exception of daily walks. I offer dog walking, doggy daycare, home boarding and drop ins. Although I love it, it certainly comes with its own set of downfalls. Most aren’t associated with the company though.

Often times pet parents don’t understand exactly what they are paying for or why you have certain requirements. I’ve had lots of customers haggle my prices or low ball me because they believe they are unreasonable. With dogvacay you are also insuring your pets for the weekend, you don’t have the same luxury with family and friends. I am also bringing your pet into my home and treating them like family. Working through  dogvacay or rover in addition to working as a vet assistant puts me in a different category than joe blow that offered to watch your pet $20. 

Pet parents also underestimate the importance of meeting my requirements such as vaccination records and a meet and greet. Vaccination records ensure the safety and health of all parties involved especially my own family. Any reputable pet facility will ask for your pet to be up to date on shots as well. And in the event of an incident, such as a bite. Animal control wants to know that your pet is up to date on rabies at the very least. Bordetella and DAPP are also important for pets kept in close quarters as not to pass on highly contagious diseases. 

A meet and greet is mandatory for me because oftentimes pet parents aren’t completely honest about their pets and their level of socialization or other habits that could be deal breakers. And sometimes pets just aren’t compatible, they’re much like people with conflicting personalities. Any aggression is a deal breaker for me because that puts my pets and child in danger. 

I also require a crate, no your pet won’t be crated all day but they will be at bed time. This simply ensures everyone is in their own space at night, this keeps accidents down! 

I hope with this information other pet sitters can protect themselves as well as their host. And pet parents are more understanding of what goes into pet sitting. I also added a link for my dogvacay page, check it out!

Rover and the Robinsons

Leave a Reply

